immigration, respecting which the general Parliament may make laws for any or all of the provinces, and each legislature may do the same for the province over which it has jurisdiction, provided that no Provincial Act is repugnant to any Dominion Act.

- 24. Either the English or French language may be used in the debates in Parliament and in the legislatures of Quebec, Manitoba and the Northwest Territories, and both languages are to be used in the respective records and journals of those Houses, and in the publication of the laws of Quebec, Manitoba and the North-west Territories. Either language may be used in pleadings or processes in the courts of Canada, and in Quebec and Manitoba.
- 25. The seat of government of Canada is fixed at Ottawa until the Queen otherwise directs.
- 26. The chief executive government and authority in Canada is vested in the Queen, in whom is also vested the chief command of the militia and of all naval and military forces of or in Canada. Her Majesty is represented by a Governor General, appointed by the Queen in Council, but paid by Canada, whose term of office usually lasts five years. The Governor General's salary is fixed at £10,000 sterling, and forms the third charge upon the consolidated revenue of the country. The Governor General is bound by the terms of his commission, which instrument was revised in 1887, and can only exercise such authority as is expressly intrusted to He governs under the advice of a Council or Ministry, known as the Privy Council of Canada, which is responsible to Parliament. The Governor General, as the acting head of the Executive, summons, prorogues and dissolves Parliament, and assents to or reserves Bills in the name of Her Majesty, but, in the discharge of these and other executive duties, acts entirely by and with the advice of his Council; even in matters of Imperial interest affecting Canada, he consults with his Council and submits their views to the authorities in England.

The royal prerogative of mercy in capital cases, formerly exercised on the Governor General's own judgment and responsibility, is now administered, as in England, pursuant to the advice of the Ministry.

27. As the members of the Council hold office only while they retain the confidence of the House of Commons, the majority necessarily sit in that branch, though there is always a certain representation in the Senate; at the present time, there are four members of the Government in the Senate.

An administration, when defeated on an appeal to the country, usually

retires without waiting for the assembling of Parliament.

The Governor General has authority to appoint a deputy or deputies to whom he may delegate such of his functions as he may deem expedient.

28. Following the British model as closely as circumstances permit, the Parliament of Canada consists of: 1st, the Queen; 2nd, an Upper House called the Senate; and 3rd, a Lower House styled the House of Commons. The privileges and immunities of the two Houses are defined by the Parliament of Canada, but must not exceed those enjoyed by the Imperial House